Home > Africa > Comoros
Comoros flag
Union of the Comoros
Jumhuriyat al Qamar al Muttahidah
Udzima wa Komori
Union des Comores
   Archipelago of the Indian Ocean located about 250 km east of Mozambique and north-west of Madagascar. Independent since 1975, the Comoros are of volcanic origin and this is reflected in their morphological aspect, which is rather harsh; Mayotte is also part of this group of islands, but has chosen to remain a dependency of France.
Government type Federal presidential republic
Area 1,861 km² (719 sq mi)
Population 758,000 inh. (2017 census)
Population 886,000 inh. (2024 est.)
Population density 476 inh/km² (1,232 inh/mi²)
Capital Moroni (75,000 pop.)
Currency Comorian franc
Human development index 0.558 (156th place)
Languages Arabic, Comorian, French (all official)
Life expectancy M 62 years, F 66 years
Location in Africa


Surrounded by the Indian Ocean


Largest cities
Moroni 75,000 pop.
Mutsamudu 30,000 pop.
Fomboni 18,300 pop.
Domoni 16,300 pop.
Highest mountains
Mount Kartala 2,361 m (7,746 ft)
Largest islands
Grande Comore 1,146 km² (442 sq mi)
Anjouan 424 km² (164 sq mi)
Mohéli 290 km² (112 sq mi)


   The Comoros are administratively a federation of 3 islands, which in rotation every 4 years exchange the presidency of the country; each island is then divided into prefectures and communes.