Home > Africa > Seychelles
Seychelles flag
Republic of Seychelles
Repiblik Sesel
République des Seychelles
   Seychelles are an archipelago of the Indian Ocean north-east of Madagascar, for a total of over 100 islands, some volcanic, but most of them coral. The largest island, where the capital is located, is Mahé; tourism has become the primary source of the economy and has gradually replaced agriculture over the years, raising the standard of living of the population.
Government type Presidential republic
Area 459 km² (177 sq mi)
Population 90,900 inh. (2010 census)
Population 100,400 inh. (2022 est.)
Population density 219 inh/km² (567 inh/mi²)
Capital Victoria (26,500 pop.)
Currency Seychellois rupee
Human development index 0.796 (67th place)
Languages Seychellois Creole, English, French (all official)
Life expectancy M 73 years, F 82 years
Location in Africa


Surrounded by the Indian Ocean


Largest cities
Victoria 26,500 pop.
Anse Étoile 5,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Morne Seychellois 905 m (2,969 ft)
Largest islands
Mahé 157 km² (61 sq mi)
Aldabra 155 km² (60 sq mi)
Praslin 39 km² (15 sq mi)
Silhouette 20 km² (7.7 sq mi)


   The country is administratively divided into 26 districts, almost all on the island of Mahé, where over 80% of the population lives; the urbanization rate is 54%.