Home > Asia > Brunei
Brunei flag
Nation of Brunei
Negara Brunei Darussalam
   This Sultanate occupies a small portion of Borneo in the Malaysian part and consists of two distinct territories separated from each other by a few kilometers, but connected by a long road bridge. The enormous economic development of the 20th century came thanks to the exploitation of oil resources that began after the Second World War.
Government type Absolute monarchy
Area 5,765 kmē (2,226 sq mi)
Population 430,000 inh. (2021 census)
Population density 75 inh/kmē (193 inh/miē)
Capital Bandar Seri Begawan (225,000 pop.)
Currency Brunei dollar
Human development index 0.838 (47th place)
Languages Malay (official), English, Chinese
Life expectancy M 76 years, F 78 years
Location in Asia


Malaysia WEST, SOUTH and EAST
Pacific Ocean NORTH


Largest cities
Bandar Seri Begawan 225,000 pop.
Kuala Belait 31,900 pop.
Sengkurong 20,300 pop.
Highest mountains
Bukit Pagon 1,850 m (6,070 ft)
Longest rivers
Belait 206 km (128 mi)
Largest lakes
Tasek Merimbun
Largest islands
Borneo 743,330 kmē (287,001 sq mi) total, less than 0.8% belongs to Brunei
Muara Besar 9.5 kmē (3.7 sq mi)


   Brunei is administratively divided into 4 districts; that of Belait constitutes almost half of the territory, while the district of Brunei-Muara, where the capital is also located, is by far the most populated, with about 70% of the entire population of the country.

   About half of the population lives in the capital Bandar Seri Begawan, with all the other towns much smaller and located along the coast, as the rest of the territory is mainly occupied by dense rainforest.

Bandar Seri Begawan