Home > Europe > Liechtenstein
Liechtenstein flag
Principality of Liechtenstein
Fürstentum Liechtenstein
   Liechtenstein is a small principality located between Switzerland and Austria, independent since 1719 when it obtained this status from the Holy Roman Empire. Much of the border with Switzerland coincides with the Rhine river, while to the south-east the Alpine peaks exceed 2,000 meters; the economy is centered on the secondary and tertiary sectors (banking, insurance, real estate market).
Government type Constitutional monarchy
Area 160 km² (62 sq mi)
Population 39,700 inh. (2023)
Population density 248 inh/km² (640 inh/mi²)
Capital Vaduz (5,800 pop.)
Currency Swiss franc
Human development index 0.935 (16th place)
Languages German (official), Alemannic dialect
Life expectancy M 80 years, F 84 years
Location in Europe


Switzerland WEST and SOUTH
Austria EAST


Largest cities
Schaan 6,100 pop.
Vaduz 5,800 pop.
Triesen 5,500 pop.
Highest mountains
Grauspitz 2,599 m (8,527 ft)
Longest rivers
Rhine 1,320 km (820 mi) total, 41 km (25.5 mi) in Liechtenstein
Largest lakes
Gampriner Seele 0.026 km² (0.01 sq mi)


   Liechtenstein is divided into 11 municipalities, consisting of towns with a maximum of a few thousand inhabitants, including the capital Vaduz.

   Triesenberg, with an area of 30 km², is the largest municipality, while Schaan (6,000 inhabitants) is the most populated one, slightly surpassing Vaduz.