Home > Europe > Austria
Austria flag
Republic of Austria
Republik Österreich
   Austria is one of the Alpine countries (with Switzerland and Liechtenstein), given that the territory is very strongly linked to these mountains; in the past centuries Austria has often been at the center of world events, both as regards political and cultural aspects, the drastic reduction of its surface area at the end of the First World War has decreed a subsequent minor influence.
Government type Federal parliamentary republic
Area 83,879 km² (32,386 sq mi)
Population 8,402,000 inh. (2011 census)
Population 9,106,000 inh. (2023 est.)
Population density 109 inh/km² (281 inh/mi²)
Capital Vienna (1,982,000 pop.)
Currency Euro
Human development index 0.916 (25th place)
Languages German (official), Croatian, Slovene, Hungarian
Life expectancy M 79 years, F 84 years
Location in Europe


Switzerland and Liechtenstein WEST
Germany and Czech Republic NORTH
Slovakia and Hungary EAST
Slovenia and Italy SOUTH


Largest cities
Vienna 1,982,000 pop.
Graz 299,000 pop.
Linz 210,000 pop.
Salzburg 157,000 pop.
Innsbruck 131,000 pop.
Klagenfurt 104,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Grossglockner 3,798 m (12,461 ft)
Longest rivers
Danube 2,858 km (1,776 mi) total, 350 km (217 mi) in Austria
Drava 749 km (465 mi) total, 259 km (161 mi) in Austria
Inn 510 km (317 mi) total, 280 km (174 mi) in Austria
Mur 444 km (276 mi) total, 348 km (216 mi) in Austria
Enns 254 km (158 mi)
Salzach 225 km (140 mi)
Largest lakes
Constance 536 km² (207 sq mi) total, 60 km² (23 sq mi) in Austria
Neusiedl 285 km² (110 sq mi) total, 220 km² (85 sq mi) in Austria
Attersee 46 km² (18 sq mi)
Traunsee 24.5 km² (9.5 sq mi)


   Austria is divided into 9 Länder, with that of the capital being by far the smallest, but also the most populous; Tyrol is divided into two parts, separated from each other by Salzburg, while Lower Austria with 19,174 km² is the largest Land.

   The capital Vienna is the only major city in Austria, with just under 2 million inhabitants, followed by far from Graz and Linz; in all there are 27 inhabited centers with at least 20,000 inhabitants, the distribution is not very homogeneous with different areas that do not have any cities and others that are more densely populated.