Home > Europe > Czech Republic
Czech Republic flag
Czech Republic
Ceská republika
   Czech Republic, in the heart of Europe, was born in 1993 from the split of Czechoslovakia; it is located east of Germany. Moravia and Bohemia are the two regions of this country; the territory is flat and hilly, with mountains that reach a maximum of 1,600 meters in height and which practically surround the Czech Republic, since they are all in the border areas.
Government type Parliamentary republic
Area 78,871 km² (30,452 sq mi)
Population 10,524,000 inh. (2021 census)
Population density 133 inh/km² (346 inh/mi²)
Capital Prague (1,301,000 pop.)
Currency Czech koruna
Human development index 0.889 (32nd place)
Languages Czech (official), Slovak, Polish, German
Life expectancy M 75 years, F 81 years
Location in Europe


Germany WEST
Poland NORTH
Slovakia EAST
Austria SOUTH


Largest cities
Prague 1,301,000 pop.
Brno 379,000 pop.
Ostrava 280,000 pop.
Plzen 169,000 pop.
Liberec 103,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Snezka 1,602 m (5,256 ft)
Longest rivers
Elbe 1,094 km (680 mi) total, 370 km (230 mi) in Czech Republic
Vltava 433 km (269 mi)
Morava 353 km (219 mi) total, 284 km (176 mi) in Czech Republic
Ohre 316 km (196 mi) total, 278 km (173 mi) in Czech Republic
Largest lakes
Lipno (artificial) 49 km² (19 sq mi)
Cerne Jezero 0.18 km² (0.07 sq mi)


   Czech Republic is divided into 14 regions, Central Bohemia and Southern Bohemia are the largest and the only ones with over 10,000 km² of surface area; the region of Prague, Central Bohemia, Moravia-Silesia and South Moravia exceed one million inhabitants.

   5 cities exceed 100,000 inhabitants, while another 29 are included in the range between 30,000 and 100,000 people; looking at the second map you can see some more populated areas, such as those around the city of Ostrava, the third most populous in the country and the one north of Prague.