Home > Europe > Slovakia
Slovakia flag
Slovak Republic
SlovenskŠ Republika
   Slovakia separated from the neighboring Czech Republic in 1993 and is located in the center of Europe; since 2004 it is part of the European Union. The territory is three-quarters mountainous, since only the southern areas near the Danube and further east Ukraine are flat.
Government type Parliamentary republic
Area 49,034 km≤ (18,932 sq mi)
Population 5,449,000 inh. (2021 census)
Population density 111 inh/km≤ (288 inh/mi≤)
Capital Bratislava (476,000 pop.)
Currency Euro
Human development index 0.848 (45th place)
Languages Slovak (official), Czech, Hungarian
Life expectancy M 74 years, F 81 years
Location in Europe


Poland NORTH
Czech Republic and Austria WEST
Hungary SOUTH
Ukraine EAST


Largest cities
Bratislava 476,000 pop.
Kosice 229,000 pop.
Presov 83,900 pop.
Zilina 81,900 pop.
Nitra 77,600 pop.
BanskŠ Bystrica 75,300 pop.
Highest mountains
Gerlach 2,654 m (8,707 ft)
Longest rivers
Danube 2,858 km (1,776 mi) total, only a small section is in Slovakia, marking part of the border with Hungary
Tisza 976 km (606 mi) total, 5 km (3 mi) in Slovakia
Vah 406 km (252 mi)
Largest lakes
Orava (artificial) 35 km≤ (13.5 sq mi)
Zemplinska Sirava (artificial) 33 km≤ (12.7 sq mi)


   Slovakia is divided into 8 regions, with the population that is quite well distributed over the territory, since the number of inhabitants is quite similar for each region; in terms of extension, however, there is more difference, with the regions of BanskŠ Bystrica and Presov in the first two places.

   The distribution of the major urban centers is also quite homogeneous, with the two biggest cities, Bratislava and Kosice, located almost in opposite positions; all the other major centers remain under one hundred thousand inhabitants.