Home > Europe > Luxembourg
Luxembourg flag
Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
Groussherzogtum Lëtzebuerg
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg
Großherzogtum Luxemburg
   Luxembourg is located in the south-east of Belgium and borders two of the most important European countries, France and Germany. The economy of Luxembourg in recent decades has veered decisively towards the tertiary sector, especially the financial sector, after having been centered first on agriculture and then on the extractive industry.
Government type Parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Area 2,586 km² (998 sq mi)
Population 512,000 inh. (2011 census)
Population 645,000 inh. (2022 est.)
Population density 249 inh/km² (646 inh/mi²)
Capital Luxembourg (128,000 pop.)
Currency Euro
Human development index 0.930 (17th place)
Languages Luxembourgish, French, German (all official)
Life expectancy M 80 years, F 85 years
Location in Europe


Germany EAST
France SOUTH


Largest cities
Luxembourg 128,000 pop.
Esch-sur-Alzette 36,200 pop.
Differdange 28,600 pop.
Dudelange 21,600 pop.
Pétange 20,400 pop.
Highest mountains
Kneiff 560 m (1,837 ft)
Longest rivers
Moselle 545 km (339 mi) total, 37 km (23 mi) in Luxembourg
Sûre 173 km (107 mi) total, 160 km (99 mi) in Luxembourg
Largest lakes
Lac de la Haute-Sûre (artificial) 3.8 km² (1.5 sq mi)


   Luxembourg is administratively divided into 12 cantons; that of Clervaux in the northern extremity of the country is the largest, while the two southern cantons of the capital Luxembourg and Esch-sur-Alzette are by far the most populated and house together 60% of the total population.

   All the inhabited centers over 10,000 inhabitants are located in the southern part of Luxembourg, while in the rest of the country there are only smaller villages, as can be seen from the second map.