Home > Europe > Moldova
Moldova flag
Republic of Moldova
Republica Moldova
   Moldova is located in Eastern Europe, between Romania and Ukraine, and became independent in 1991 after the dissolution of the Soviet Union; for history and culture it is however to be associated with Romania more than with Russia. The territory is flat and hilly and is almost entirely included between the courses of the Prut and Dnestr rivers; Moldova is among the poorest European countries, with the economy still rather bounded to agriculture.
Government type Parliamentary republic
Area 33,847 km² (13,068 sq mi)
Population 2,998,000 inh. (2014 census - without Transnistria)
Population 3,070,000 inh. (2022 est.)
Population density 91 inh/km² (235 inh/mi²)
Capital Chisinau (610,000 pop.)
Currency Moldovan leu
Human development index 0.767 (80th place)
Languages Moldovan (official), Ukrainian, Russian, Gagauz
Life expectancy M 67 years, F 75 years
Location in Europe


Romania WEST
The region of Transnistria (Pridnestrovie in Russian), located in the eastern part of Moldova (between the Dnieper - Nistru in Moldavian, hence the name - and Ukraine), declared itself independent in September 1990, but is not officially recognized by any Country. The full name of the region is Pridnestrovskaia Moldavskaia Respublika; it is 3,664 km² wide (including the city of Tighina, officially Moldovan territory, but in fact under the control of Transnistria) and has 466,000 inhabitants; data from the census held in 2015 gave the following ethnic division: 34% Russians, 33% Moldovans, 27% Ukrainians, 6% others; meanwhile many Moldovans have emigrated to the west of the Dnieper, while Russians and Ukrainians have followed the opposite route. The capital is Tiraspol (134,000 pop.), the other main cities are Tighina (91,000 pop.) and Rabnita (47,900 pop.).


Largest cities
Chisinau 610,000 pop.
Tiraspol 134,000 pop.
Balti 93,900 pop.
Tighina 91,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Balanesti 428 m (1,404 ft)
Longest rivers
Danube 2,858 km (1,776 mi) total, 570 meters (1,870 feet) in Moldova
Dniester 1,370 km (851 mi) total, 660 km (410 mi) in Moldova
Prut 926 km (575 mi) total, 695 km (432 mi) in Moldova
Raut 286 km (178 mi)
Largest lakes
Dubasari (artificial) 67 km² (26 sq mi)
Lake Beleu 6 km² (2.3 sq mi)


   Moldova is administratively divided into 32 districts, 2 municipalities (Chisinau and Balti) and 2 semi-autonomous regions, Gagauzia and Transnistria, which in the same period in which Moldova broke away from the former Soviet Union also declared independent and which has its own government, with Tiraspol as its capital, the second most populous city in the country; Tighina is on paper a municipality of Moldova, but is controlled by Transnistria.

   Only 4 cities exceed 50,000 inhabitants, with another 27 urban centers having a population higher than ten thousand people, but are often close to this threshold.