Home > North America > Dominica
Dominica flag
Commonwealth of Dominica
   Volcanic island in the Caribbean, located approximately in the middle of the Lesser Antilles, between the two French possessions of Guadeloupe and Martinique. The territory is quite rugged and half of the island is still covered by very luxuriant tropical forest, also because rainfall is overall very abundant.
Government type Parliamentary republic
Area 751 kmē (290 sq mi)
Population 71,300 inh. (2011 census)
Population 72,700 inh. (2022 est.)
Population density 97 inh/kmē (251 inh/miē)
Capital Roseau (14,700 pop.)
Currency Eastern Caribbean dollar
Human development index 0.742 (94th place)
Languages English (official), Creole-French
Life expectancy M 74 years, F 80 years
Location in North-Central America


Surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean


Largest cities
Roseau 14,700 pop.
Portsmouth 4,200 pop.
Highest mountains
Morne Diablotins 1,447 m (4,747 ft)
Largest lakes
Freshwater Lake 0.04 kmē (0.015 sq mi)
Largest islands
Dominica 751 kmē (290 sq mi)


   Dominica is administratively divided into 10 parishes, with that of Saint Andrew being the largest, while the parish of Saint George, where the capital is located, is the most populated.

   Only the capital Roseau has more than 10,000 inhabitants, while all the other towns remain under 5,000 people and are mostly located on the west coast.