Home > Oceania > Vanuatu
Vanuatu flag
Republic of Vanuatu
Ripablik blong Vanuatu
République de Vanuatu
   Vanuatu is a Pacific archipelago located north of New Caledonia, south-east of the Solomon Islands and west of Fiji; it is of volcanic origin and on the main island it reaches almost 2,000 meters in height.
Government type Parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Area 12,189 km² (4,706 sq mi)
Population 300,000 inh. (2020 census)
Population density 25 inh/km² (64 inh/mi²)
Capital Port Vila (49,000 pop.)
Currency Vanuatu vatu
Human development index 0.609 (140th place)
Languages Bislama, French, English (all official)
Life expectancy M 69 years, F 72 years
Location in Oceania


Surrounded by the Pacific Ocean


Largest cities
Port Vila 49,000 pop.
Luganville 17,700 pop.
Highest mountains
Tabwemasana 1,879 m (6,165 ft)
Largest lakes
Letas 19 km² (7.3 sq mi)
Largest islands
Espiritu Santo 3,955 km² (1,527 sq mi)
Malakula 2,041 km² (788 sq mi)
Efate 899 km² (347 sq mi)
Erromango 892 km² (344 sq mi)
Ambrym 678 km² (262 sq mi)
Tanna 550 km² (212 sq mi)


   Vanuatu is divided into 6 provinces; Sanma and Malampa are the two largest provinces, while that of Shefa is the most populated, thanks to the presence of the capital Port Vila; there are only two towns in the country, with the rest of the population living in rural areas and small villages.

Port Vila