Home > Oceania
   Oceania is made up of 14 sovereign states, some of them relatively recently formed (1991). 99% of the territory is given by Australia, Papua New Guinea and New Zealand; the remaining nations are all small coral islands, with some exceptions given by islands of volcanic origin (Fiji, Solomon, Vanuatu, Samoa) and therefore much more extensive than the coral ones. Other islands controlled mainly by the United States and France are part of the continent.

   The average altitude of the continent is consequently quite low (340 meters); however New Zealand and Papua New Guinea are rather mountainous regions. Major lakes and rivers are obviously found in Australia; the climate is generally tropical and equatorial, while in the interior parts of Australia it is scorching hot, in New Zealand there is a temperate climate.

Area: 8,945,000 kmē (3,454,000 sq mi)
Population: 48,760,000 (2019 estimates)
Pop. density: 5,5 inhab/kmē (14 inhab/sq mi)

Most populous city: Sydney (4,645,000 inhab.)
Highest mountain: Puncak Jaya 4,884 m (16,024 ft)
Lowest point: Lake Eyre -15 m (-49 ft)
Longest river: Darling 2,740 km (1,703 mi)
Largest lake: Lake Eyre 9,500 kmē (3,668 sq mi)
Largest island: New Guinea 785,753 kmē (303,381 sq mi)

Largest cities  |  Highest mountains  |  Longest rivers  |  Largest lakes  |  Largest islands  |  Countries and Capitals

Asia Countries and Dependent Territories

  American Samoa
  Cook Islands
  French Polynesia
  New Caledonia
  Northern Mariana Islands
  Pitcairn Islands
  Wallis and Futuna