Home > Africa > Equatorial Guinea
Equatorial Guinea flag
Republic of Equatorial Guinea
República de Guinea Ecuatorial
République de Guinée Équatoriale
República da Guiné Equatorial
   Equatorial Guinea is located north of the Equator and is divided into the continental part (over 90% of the total area) located between Cameroon and Gabon and the insular part, in particular Bioko, where the capital is also located, less than 50 km from the Cameroonian coasts. The territory is hilly / mountainous in the continental part, but reaches only just above 1,000 meters, while the mountains on Bioko are more relevant and pronounced, since they reach 3,000 meters in height; other smaller islands are also part of the country, including Pagalu, which is located over 200 km southwest of São Tomé.
Government type Presidential republic
Area 28,051 km² (10,831 sq mi)
Population 1,225,000 inh. (2015 census)
Population 1,558,000 inh. (2022 est.)
Population density 56 inh/km² (144 inh/mi²)
Capital Malabo (257,000 pop.)
Currency Central African CFA franc
Human development index 0.596 (145th place)
Languages Spanish, Portuguese, French (all official), regional languages
Life expectancy M 58 years, F 60 years
Location in Africa


Cameroon NORTH
Gabon SOUTH and EAST
Atlantic Ocean WEST


Largest cities
Bata 290,000 pop.
Malabo 257,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Pico Basilé 3,011 m (9,879 ft)
Longest rivers
Benito 300 km (186 mi) total, with the section in Gabon
Largest islands
Bioko 2,017 km² (779 sq mi)
Annobón 17 km² (6.6 sq mi)
Corisco 14 km² (5.4 sq mi)


   Equatorial Guinea consists of 8 provinces, with that of Djibloho created in 2017 in the area where the new capital Ciudad de la Paz will rise; the province of Centro Sur constitutes just over 1/3 of the territory and is the largest one, while that of the Litoral has the highest number of inhabitants.

   In the country there are just 5 urban centers with at least 10,000 inhabitants, with only Bioko and the capital Malabo which can be considered real cities.