Home > Asia > Kyrgyzstan
Kyrgyzstan flag
Kyrgyz Republic
Kyrgyz Respublikasy
   Kyrgyzstan is a medium-sized mountainous country which became independent from Russia in 1991 and is located between China and Kazakhstan. The economy is still quite tied to agriculture and livestock, although in recent years the industrial sector has been more developed, thanks to the good availability of mineral resources (coal in the first place).
Government type Parliamentary republic
Area 199,945 kmē (77,199 sq mi)
Population 6,977,000 inh. (2022 census)
Population density 35 inh/kmē (90 inh/miē)
Capital Bishkek (1,059,000 pop., 1,356,000 urban aggl.)
Currency Kyrgyzstani som
Human development index 0.692 (118th place)
Languages Kyrgyz, Russian (both official), Uzbek
Life expectancy M 68 years, F 76 years
Location in Asia


Kazakhstan NORTH
Uzbekistan WEST
Tajikistan SOUTH-WEST


Largest cities
Bishkek 1,059,000 pop., 1,356,000 urban aggl.
Osh 293,000 pop.
Jalal-Abad 113,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Jengish Chokusu 7,439 m (24,406 ft)
Ibn Sina Peak 7,134 m (23,406 ft)
Longest rivers
Syr Darya 2,219 km (1,379 mi) total, with stretches in Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan
Chu 1,067 km (663 mi) total, with the section in Kazakhstan
Naryn 807 km (501 mi) total, including the part in Uzbekistan
Largest lakes
Issyk-Kul 6,236 kmē (2,408 sq mi)
Song-Kul 270 kmē (104 sq mi)


   Kyrgyzstan is administratively divided into 7 regions and 2 independent cities (Bishkek and Osh); Naryn is the largest region, while Osh and Jalal-Abad are the two regions with the largest number of inhabitants.

   In the country there are 12 cities with at least 40,000 inhabitants, even if only three of these exceed one hundred thousand inhabitants; the main urban centers are concentrated mainly in the areas of the capital Bishkek and Osh, near the border with Uzbekistan.