Home > South America > Guyana
Guyana flag
Co-operative Republic of Guyana
   Guyana is located east of Venezuela and is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean; it has been independent since 1966. The territory is rich in watercourses and mostly flat, with the exception of the reliefs at the border with Venezuela and Brazil; the majority of the population resides along the coastal strip.
Government type Parliamentary republic
Area 214,970 kmē (83,000 sq mi)
Population 747,000 inh. (2012 census)
Population 809,000 inh. (2022 est.)
Population density 3.8 inh/kmē (9.7 inh/miē)
Capital Georgetown (125,000 pop.)
Currency Guyanese dollar
Human development index 0.682 (122nd place)
Languages English (official), Creole-English, Hindi dialects, Amerindian languages
Life expectancy M 67 years, F 73 years
Location in South America


Venezuela WEST
Brazil SOUTH
Suriname EAST
Atlantic Ocean NORTH


Largest cities
Georgetown 125,000 pop.
Linden 28,700 pop.
Golden Grove 23,100 pop.
Highest mountains
Mount Roraima 2,810 m (9,219 ft)
Longest rivers
Essequibo 1,010 km (628 mi)
Courantyne 725 km (450 mi)
Largest islands
Hogg 60 kmē (23 sq mi)


   Guyana is administratively divided into 10 regions, with very different territorial extensions between the coastal ones and those of the hinterland; Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo and Cuyuni-Mazaruni are the two largest regions, but both have a population density of less than 0.5 inhabitants per square kilometer; the most populated region is instead that of Demerara-Mahaica, where the capital is located and which hosts just over 2/5 of the country's inhabitants, despite making up just 1% of the surface area of Guyana.

   Apart from Georgetown, there are no other proper cities, with all the major towns located a short distance from the capital or along the Atlantic coast, with the exception of Linden, located about 100 kilometers further south inland.