Home > Africa > Angola
Angola flag
Republic of Angola
República de Angola
   Decades of civil war have torn apart this good-sized country located to the south-east of the Democratic Republic of Congo and bounded in the west by the Atlantic Ocean for over 1,500 km; the territory is characterized by a vast plateau with an average altitude of 1,500 meters, with the exception of the coastal areas; to the north we also find the exclave of Cabinda.
Government type Presidential republic
Area 1,246,700 km² (481,354 sq mi)
Population 25,789,000 inh. (2014 census)
Population 33,086,000 inh. (2022 est.)
Population density 27 inh/km² (69 inh/mi²)
Capital Luanda (2,572,000 pop., 9,051,000 urban aggl.)
Currency Angolan kwanza
Human development index 0.586 (148th place)
Languages Portuguese (official), regional languages
Life expectancy M 58 years, F 63 years
Location in Africa


Republic of the Congo NORTH (Cabinda)
Democratic Republic of the Congo NORTH-EAST
Zambia EAST
Namibia SOUTH
Atlantic Ocean WEST


Largest cities
Luanda 2,572,000 pop., 9,051,000 urban aggl.
Huambo 716,000 pop.
Benguela 616,000 pop.
Lubango 601,000 pop., 1,145,000 urban aggl.
Cabinda 550,000 pop.
Malanje 455,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Mount Moco 2,620 m (8,596 ft)
Longest rivers
Congo 4,700 km (2,920 mi) total, with sections in Republic of the Congo and in Democratic Republic of the Congo
Zambezi 2,700 km (1,678 mi) total, 375 km (233 mi) in Angola
Kasai 2,150 km (1,336 mi) total, with the part in Democratic Republic of the Congo
Kwango 1,770 km (1,100 mi) total, including the section in Democratic Republic of the Congo
Okavango 1,600 km (994 mi) total, with stretches in Namibia and Botswana
Cuanza 960 km (597 mi)
Cunene 945 km (587 mi)
Largest islands
Baia dos Tigres 98 km² (38 sq mi)


   Angola is administratively divided into 18 provinces, with the two south-eastern ones of Moxico and Cuando Cubango making up about 1/3 of the territory and are the two largest, while that of the capital Luanda, despite being by far the smaller is also the clearly more populated one.

   At the 2014 census there were 22 cities with over one hundred thousand inhabitants, with the capital Luanda alone over a million people; as can be seen from the second map, each province has at least one major urban center, which is usually the chief town.