Home > Africa > Republic of the Congo
Republic of the Congo flag
Republic of the Congo
République du Congo
   Congo is located in the central-western part of Africa, west of the homonymous Democratic Republic of the Congo; it also has a short stretch of coast on the Atlantic Ocean. The territory is rather flat, a large part of the country is indeed at an altitude of 300-400 meters; the capital is very close to the larger and more famous Kinshasa, from which it is separated by the Congo River, one of the most important waterways in Africa.
Government type Presidential republic
Area 342,000 km² (132,047 sq mi)
Population 6,142,000 inh. (2023 census)
Population density 18 inh/km² (47 inh/mi²)
Capital Brazzaville (2,146,000 pop., 2,860,000 urban aggl.)
Currency Central African CFA franc
Human development index 0.571 (153rd place)
Languages French (official), Lingala, Kituba and other regional languages
Life expectancy M 63 years, F 65 years
Location in Africa


Cameroon and Central African Republic NORTH
Democratic Republic of the Congo EAST and SOUTH
Angola (Cabinda) SOUTH-WEST
Gabon WEST
Atlantic Ocean SOUTH-WEST


Largest cities
Brazzaville 2,146,000 pop., 2,860,000 urban aggl.
Pointe-Noire 700,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Mount Nabemba 1,020 m (3,346 ft)
Longest rivers
Congo 4,700 km (2,920 mi) total, 700 km (435 mi) in Republic of the Congo
Ubangi-Uele 2,270 km (1,411 mi) total, including parts in Democratic Republic of the Congo and Central African Republic
Kouilou-Niari 560 km (348 mi)
Largest lakes
Lake Tele 22 km² (8.5 sq mi)
Largest islands
M'Bamou (in Congo river) 180 km² (69 sq mi)


   Congo is administratively divided into 10 departments and 2 cities (Brazzaville and Pointe Noire), which have a similar status to the departments; the two northern departments of Likouala and Sangha are the largest, with Pool being the most populated, even if it is largely surpassed by both the capital Brazzaville and Pointe Noire.

   The aforementioned Brazzaville and Pointe Noire are the only real cities in the Congo, with all the other urban centers below the threshold of 100,000 inhabitants; the southern part of the country is more densely populated than the central and northern ones.