Home > Africa > Central African Republic
Central African Republic flag
Central African Republic
République centrafricaine
Ködörösęse tî Bęafrîka
   As the name suggests, this country is located in the center of Africa and has no access to the sea. The territory is flat, except for two not very high mountainous areas, on the borders with Cameroon and South Sudan; the Central African Republic is one of the poorest African countries, the only city of some importance is the capital Bangui.
Government type Presidential republic
Area 622,984 km˛ (240,535 sq mi)
Population 6,445,000 inh. (2024 est.)
Population density 10.5 inh/km˛ (27 inh/mi˛)
Capital Bangui (812,000 pop., 1,264,000 urban aggl.)
Currency Central African CFA franc
Human development index 0.404 (188th place)
Languages French, Sango (official), regional languages
Life expectancy M 50 years, F 54 years


Largest cities
Bangui 812,000 pop., 1,264,000 urban aggl.
Bimbo 349,000 pop.
Bégoua 264,000 pop.
Carnot 129,000 pop.
Berbérati 104,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Mount Ngaoui 1,410 m (4,626 ft)
Longest rivers
Ubangi-Uele 2,270 km (1,411 mi) total, 630 km (391 mi) in the Central African Republic
Kotto 820 km (510 mi)
Mbomou 790 km (491 mi)
Ouham 675 km (419 mi) total, 530 km (329 mi) in the Central African Republic
Bahr Aouk 650 km (404 mi) total, 540 km (336 mi) in the Central African Republic
Mambéré 650 km (404 mi)


   Central African Republic is administratively divided into 16 prefectures, with the capital Bangui constituting a separate district; the prefectures of Haute-Kotto and Mbomou, in the eastern part of the territory, are the largest, while the prefecture of Ouham-Pendé is the most populated.

   According to the latest estimates there are 18 inhabited centers with at least 30,000 inhabitants; the distribution of the major cities and towns is unbalanced towards the western part of the country, which is more densely populated; the two most populated cities are part of the urban area of the capital Bangui.