Home > Africa > Djibouti
Djibouti flag
Republic of Djibouti
Jumhuriyah Jibuti
République de Djibouti
   Djibouti is located in the northeast of Ethiopia and overlooks the southern part of the Red Sea, on the Gulf of Aden. Djibouti can almost be identified with the capital of the same name, where 60% of the population resides, also because the territory is very arid and does not offer ideal environmental conditions.
Government type Presidential republic
Area 23,200 km² (8,958 sq mi)
Population 1,035,000 inh. (2024 est.)
Population density 45 inh/km² (116 inh/mi²)
Capital Djibouti (674,000 pop.)
Currency Djiboutian franc
Human development index 0.509 (171st place)
Languages Arabic, French (official), Cushitic languages
Life expectancy M 62 years, F 65 years
Location in Africa


Eritrea NORTH
Ethiopia WEST and SOUTH
Red Sea and Arabian Sea EAST


Largest cities
Djibouti 674,000 pop.
Ali-Sabieh 37,900 pop.
Highest mountains
Mousa Ali 2,028 m (6,654 ft)
Longest rivers
Only non-permanent rivers
Largest lakes
Lake Abbe 450 km² (174 sq mi) total, including section in Ethiopia, medium surface area
Lake Assal 54 km² (21 sq mi)
Largest islands
Moucha 4 km² (1.5 sq mi)


   Djibouti is administratively divided into 6 regions, with the district of the homonymous capital equalized to the other provinces and where about 60% of the population lives; Dikhil and Tadjourah, with the same surface, are the two largest provinces.

   At the 2009 census, Djibouti had 6 cities over 10,000 inhabitants, the six chief towns of the relative regions, with only the capital Djibouti as a real city.