Home > Africa > Senegal
Senegal flag
Republic of Senegal
République du Sénégal
   Senegal is a north-western African country that faces the Atlantic Ocean to the west; the territory is almost completely flat, if we exclude the small hills towards the border with Guinea, the landscape is semi-desert to the north, but then we have savannah and forests moving south.
Government type Presidential republic
Area 196,712 km² (75,951 sq mi)
Population 13,509,000 inh. (2013 census)
Population 17,739,000 inh. (2022 est.)
Population density 90 inh/km² (234 inh/mi²)
Capital Dakar (1,477,000 pop., 3,775,000 urban aggl.)
Currency West African CFA franc
Human development index 0.511 (170th place)
Languages French (official), Wolof and other regional languages
Life expectancy M 68 years, F 70 years
Location in Africa


Mauritania NORTH
Guinea and Guinea-Bissau SOUTH
The Gambia NORTH, WEST and SOUTH (sorrounded by Senegal)
Atlantic Ocean WEST


Largest cities
Pikine 1,509,000 pop.
Dakar 1,477,000 pop., 3,775,000 urban aggl.
Touba 1,019,000 pop.
Guediawaye 425,000 pop.
Thies 405,000 pop.
Highest elevation
581 m (1,906 ft) near Nepen Diakha
Longest rivers
Gambia 1,130 km (702 mi) total, with parts in Guinea and The Gambia
Senegal 1,085 km (674 mi) total, including sections in Mali and Mauritania
Casamance 300 km (186 mi)
Saloum 205 km (127 mi)
Largest lakes
Lac de Guiers (artificial) 170 km² (66 sq mi)


   Senegal is made up of 14 regions; Tambacounda and Matam are the two largest regions and are both located in the eastern part of the country, while the region of Dakar, although clearly the smallest in terms of surface area, is the most populated and grant just under 1/4 of Senegalese.

   The capital Dakar and its suburb Pikine exceed one million inhabitants, while another city, Touba, has more than half a million inhabitants; the distribution of the major inhabited centers is very unbalanced towards the central-western area of the country, while the innermost areas are totally devoid of major cities.