Home > Europe > Croatia
Croatia flag
Republic of Croatia
Republika Hrvatska
   Croatia is located in the northwestern part of the Balkan Peninsula and became independent in 1991 (not without bloodshed), following the breakup of Yugoslavia; since 1 July 2013 it is part of the European Union. The territory has an arched shape and long coasts that go far south; the presence of numerous islands and the beauty of the landscapes have made Croatia a first-rate tourist destination.
Government type Parliamentary republic
Area 56,594 kmē (21,851 sq mi)
Population 4,285,000 inh. (2011 census)
Population 4,047,000 inh. (2020 est.)
Population density 72 inh/kmē (185 inh/miē)
Capital Zagreb (809,000 pop.)
Currency Croatian kuna
Human development index 0.851 (43rd place)
Languages Croatian
Life expectancy M 76 years, F 82 years
Location in Europe


Serbia EAST
Bosnia and Herzegovina SOUTH and EAST
Montenegro SOUTH-EAST
Adriatic Sea SOUTH-WEST


Largest cities
Zagreb 809,000 pop.
Split 170,000 pop.
Rijeka 116,000 pop.
Osijek 101,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Dinara 1,831 m (6,007 ft)
Longest rivers
Danube 2,858 km (1,776 mi) total, 188 km (117 mi) in Croatia
Sava 947 km (588 mi) total, 562 km (349 mi) in Croatia
Drava 749 km (465 mi) total, 323 km (201 mi) in Croatia
Kupa 296 km (184 mi)
Largest lakes
Vransko jezero 30.7 kmē (19.1 sq mi)
Largest islands
Cres 406 kmē (157 sq mi)
Krk 406 kmē (157 sq mi)
Brac 395 kmē (153 sq mi)
Hvar 300 kmē (116 sq mi)
Pag 285 kmē (110 sq mi)
Korcula 276 kmē (107 sq mi)
Dugi otok 114 kmē (44 sq mi)
Mljet 100 kmē (39 sq mi)


   Croatia is administratively divided into 21 counties (županije), Lika - Senj is both the largest and the least populated with a very low density of just 8 inhabitants / Kmē; the city of Zagreb, which has a status comparable to the counties, is, on the opposite, the entity with the smallest surface area and the largest population.

   Only Zagreb has a significant population, while other 3 cities are between one hundred and two hundred thousand inhabitants, Split, Rijeka and Osijek; on the other hand, there are 22 urban centers over 25,000 inhabitants, with several areas without any noteworthy cities, as can be seen from the second map.