Home > Europe > Montenegro
Montenegro flag
Crna Gora
   Montenegro is a country of the Balkans with an almost completely mountainous territory; on the south-western side it's bounded by the Mediterranean Sea. Montenegro became independent in 2006, until then it was a nation with Serbia, as well as having obviously been part of Yugoslavia previously.
Government type Parliamentary republic
Area 13,812 kmē (5,333 sq mi)
Population 620,000 inh. (2011 census)
Population 621,000 inh. (2021 est.)
Population density 45 inh/kmē (116 inh/miē)
Capital Podgorica (165,000 pop.)
Currency Euro
Human development index 0.829 (48th place)
Languages Montenegrin (official), Serbian, Bosnian, Albanian, Croatian
Life expectancy M 74 years, F 79 years
Location in Europe


Croatia WEST
Bosnia and Herzegovina NORTH-WEST
Kosovo EAST
Albania SOUTH
Adriatic Sea SOUTH-WEST


Largest cities
Podgorica 165,000 pop.
Niksic 55,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Zla Kolata 2,534 m (8,314 ft)
Longest rivers
Lim 220 km (137 mi) total, 123 km (76 mi) in Montenegro
Tara 146 km (91 mi) total, 141 km (88 mi) in Montenegro
Cehotina 125 km (78 mi) total, 100 km (62 mi) in Serbia
Moraca 99 km (62 mi)
Largest lakes
Lake Skadar 370 / 530 kmē (143 / 205 sq mi) variable seasonally, about 2/3 is in Montenegro, other 1/3 in Albania
Largest islands
Ada Bojana 4.8 kmē (1.9 sq mi)
Vranjina (in Lake Skadar) 4.6 kmē (1.8 sq mi)


   Montenegro became independent from Serbia in 2006 and is divided into 24 municipalities; that of Niksic is the largest and the only one above 2,000 square kilometers, while the number of inhabitants is surpassed by Podgorica; some inland municipalities have only a few thousand people.

   Niksic and Pljevlja are the only other two inhabited centers over 15,000 inhabitants, while a further 7 towns are between this number and 10,000 units.