Home > Europe > Norway
Norway flag
Kingdom of Norway
Kongeriket Norge
Kongeriket Noreg
   Norway occupies the north-western part of the Scandinavian peninsula and unlike its 'neighbors' it is almost completely devoid of plains, it is in fact crossed from north to south by mountain ranges and also has countless islands and very jagged coasts (with the well-known fjords that insinuate in several points of the hinterland). The standard of living in Norway is among the highest in the world; only a scarce 3% of the territory is cultivable, the population has therefore always been much more devoted to fishing than to agriculture and livestock; water and mineral resources are excellent.
Government type Parliamentary constitutional monarchy
Area 323,781 km² (125,013 sq mi)
Population 5,489,000 inh. (2022)
Population density 17 inh/km² (44 inh/mi²)
Capital Oslo (704,000 pop., 1,067,000 urban aggl.)
Currency Norwegian krone
Human development index 0.961 (2nd place)
Languages Norwegian (Bokmål and Nynorsk)
Life expectancy M 82 years, F 85 years
Dependent areas Bouvet Island (49 km² - 19 sq mi, 0 pop.)
Dependent areas Jan Mayen (377 km² - 146 sq mi, 0 pop.)
Dependent areas Svalbard (61,022 km² - 23,561 sq mi, 2,900 pop.)

* Norway also has sovereignty over the land of Queen Maud (2,700,000 km² - 1,042,476 sq mi) and the island of Peter I (156 km² - 60 sq mi) in Antarctica, subject to the Antarctic Treaty; Svalbard and Jan Mayen are non-incorporated island territories.
Location in Europe


Sweden, Finland, Russia SOUTH-EAST
Arctic Ocean NORTH-EAST
Atlantic Ocean (Norwegian Sea) EAST
North Sea SOUTH


Largest cities
Oslo 704,000 pop., 1,067,000 urban aggl.
Bergen 288,000 pop.
Trondheim 211,000 pop.
Stavanger 145,000 pop.
Bærum 129,000 pop.
Kristiansand 114,000 pop.
Drammen 103,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Galdhøpiggen 2,469 m (8,100 ft)
Glittertinden 2,464 m (8,084 ft)
Longest rivers
Trysilelva 747 km (464 mi) total, 233 km (145 mi) in Norway
Glomma 601 km (373 mi)
Numedalslågen 352 km (219 mi)
Gudbrandsdalslågen / Vorma 351 km (218 mi)
Tana 348 km (216 mi)
Drammensvassdraget 302 km (188 mi)
Largest lakes
Mjøsa 365 km² (141 sq mi)
Røssvatnet 218 km² (84 sq mi)
Femunden 204 km² (79 sq mi)
Largest islands
Hinnøya 2,205 km² (851 sq mi)
Senja 1,586 km² (612 sq mi)
Langøya 850 km² (328 sq mi)
Sørøya 811 km² (313 sq mi)
Kvaløy 737 km² (285 sq mi)
Ringvassøy 663 km² (256 sq mi)
Seiland 583 km² (225 sq mi)
Hitra 571 km² (220 sq mi)
Austvågøy 527 km² (203 sq mi)


   Norway is administratively divided into 11 counties; the county of Troms og Finnmark, which occupies the northernmost part of the country, is clearly the largest (74,830 km²), but at the same time the second least populated, a short distance from nearby Nordland; only in the county of Viken, around the capital Oslo, which constitutes a separate administrative unit, there are more than one million inhabitants.

   Seven cities are home to at least one hundred thousand people, with Oslo having over double the population of Bergen, the second most populous urban center in Norway, while another 12 cities pass the 50,000 mark; as can be seen clearly from the second map, most of the major centers are located close to Oslo or along the southern coast.