Home > South America > Argentina
Argentina flag
Argentine Republic
República Argentina
   Argentina is the second largest country in South America and occupies the southern part of the continent together with Chile, with which it borders along the Andes. The territory is characterized by the extensive plain of the Pampa to the north and a plateau to the south (Patagonia); about 30% of the population is concentrated in the urban area of Buenos Aires, while many other areas are practically uninhabited.
Government type Federal presidential republic
Area 2,780,400 km² (1,073,518 sq mi)
Population 47,327,000 inh. (2022 census)
Population density 17 inh/km² (44 inh/mi²)
Capital Buenos Aires (3,072,000 pop., 16,710,000 urban aggl.)
Currency Argentine peso
Human development index 0.845 (46th place)
Languages Spanish (official), English, Italian, indigenous languages
Life expectancy M 73 years, F 80 years
Location in South America


Chile WEST
Bolivia and Paraguay NORTH
Uruguay and Atlantic Ocean EAST


Largest cities
Buenos Aires 3,072,000 pop., 16,710,000 urban aggl.
Cordoba 1,317,000 pop., 1,622,000 urban aggl.
Rosario 948,000 pop., 1,347,000 urban aggl.
La Plata 853,000 pop.
Mar del Plata 618,000 pop.
San Miguel de Tucumán 549,000 pop., 1,138,000 urban aggl.
Salta 521,000 pop., 666,000 urban aggl.
Mendoza 115,000 pop., 1,212,000 urban aggl.
Highest mountains
Aconcagua 6,961 m (22,838 ft)
Nevado Ojos del Salado 6,893 m (22,615 ft)
Monte Pissis 6,793 m (22,287 ft)
Cerro Bonete 6,759 m (22,175 ft)
Nevado Tres Cruces 6,753 m (22,156 ft)
Llullaillaco 6,739 m (22,110 ft)
Longest rivers
Paraná 4,880 km (3,032 mi) total, 1,800 km (1,118 mi) in Argentina
Paraguay 2,620 km (1,628 mi) total, only final section is in Argentina, marking the border with Paraguay
Uruguay 1,840 km (1,143 mi) total, 1,200 km (746 mi) in Argentina
Pilcomayo 1,800 km (1,118 mi) total, including Bolivian and Paraguayan parts, marks a long stretch of border with Paraguay
Bermejo 1,200 km (746 mi)
Desaguadero 1,200 km (746 mi)
Salado del Norte 1,200 km (746 mi)
Colorado 950 km (590 mi)
Largest lakes
Mar Chiquita 4,000 km² (1,544 sq mi), medium surface area
Lago Buenos Aires 1,850 km² (714 sq mi) total, 880 km² (340 sq mi) in Argentina
Lago Argentino 1,466 km² (566 sq mi)
Viedma 1,088 km² (420 sq mi)
San Martín 1,013 km² (391 sq mi) total, 521 km² (201 sq mi) in Argentina
Colhué Huapi 810 km² (313 sq mi)
Largest islands
Isla Grande de Tierra del Fuego 47,992 km² (18,530 sq mi) total, 18,507 km² (7,146 sq mi) in Argentina
Isla de los Estados 520 km² (201 sq mi)


   Argentina is a federation made up of 23 provinces, with the capital Buenos Aires having the special status of an autonomous city; the provinces of Buenos Aires and Santa Cruz are those with the greatest extension, with the first being also the clearly more populated one (over 17 million people), since it includes all the cities and localities present in the urban area of Buenos Aires, with the exception of the capital; Córdoba and Santa Fe follow at a great distance, with just over 3.5 million inhabitants each.

   Most of the main Argentine cities are located in the central and northern area of the territory, while proceeding towards the south the population density and the presence of relevant urban centers drops dramatically.

Buenos Aires