Home > Africa > Libya
Libya flag
State of Libya
Dawlat Libiya
   Libya is one of the largest countries in Africa, but at the same time also one of the most sparsely populated, given that much of its territory is occupied by the Sahara desert; the inhabitants are obviously concentrated along the coastal strip on the Mediterranean Sea, in particular in Tripolitania and in Cyrenaica; the driving force of the economy is oil, of which Libya is rich.
Government type Transitional government
Area 1,759,540 km (679,362 sq mi)
Population 6,964,000 inh. (2024 est.)
Population density 4 inh/km (10.3 inh/mi)
Capital Tripoli (1,242,000 pop.)
Currency Libyan dinar
Human development index 0.718 (104th place)
Languages Arabic (official), English, Italian, Berber dialects
Life expectancy M 70 years, F 76 years
Location in Africa


Algeria WEST
Niger and Chad SOUTH
Egypt EAST
Mediterranean Sea NORTH


Largest cities
Tripoli 1,242,000 pop.
Benghazi 699,000 pop.
Misrata 386,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Bikku Bitti 2,226 m (7,303 ft)
Longest rivers
Only non-permanent rivers
Largest lakes
Only non-permanent lakes


   Libya is administratively divided into 21 districts, with the southern ones of Kufra and Murzuq which together make up 45% of the territory, but with the first which is also the second least populated district, after that of Ghat, with just 55,000 inhabitants; the two most populated districts are those of the capital Tripoli, the only one with over a million inhabitants, and that of Benghazi.

   There are not many large cities in the country, with only 4 of them over 100,000 inhabitants; the vast majority of the main urban centers are located along the Mediterranean coast, with few exceptions, including Sebha, the only real city in the Sahara desert.