Home > North America > Guatemala
Guatemala flag
Republic of Guatemala
República de Guatemala
   Guatemala is located in Central America, southeast of Mexico and is bounded by the Pacific Ocean to the southwest and for a shorter distance by the Atlantic to the east. The territory can be divided into 3 parts, the peaceful coastal strip to the south quite narrow, followed by the rather high mountains of the Sierra Madre and its plateau up to the height of Belize where instead we have a vast plain.
Government type Presidential republic
Area 108,889 km² (42,042 sq mi)
Population 14,901,000 inh. (2018 census)
Population 17,358,000 inh. (2022 est.)
Population density 159 inh/km² (413 inh/mi²)
Capital Guatemala City (923,000 pop., 3,134,000 urban aggl.)
Currency Guatemalan quetzal
Human development index 0.663 (127th place)
Languages Spanish (official), Mayan languages
Life expectancy M 70 years, F 77 years
Location in North-Central America


Mexico NORTH and WEST
Honduras EAST
El Salvador SOUTH-EAST
Pacific Ocean SOUTH-WEST
Atlantic Ocean (Caribbean Sea) EAST


Largest cities
Guatemala City 923,000 pop., 3,134,000 urban aggl.
Mixco 463,000 pop.
Villa Nueva 426,000 pop.
Cobán 212,000 pop.
Highest mountains
Tajumulco 4,220 m (13,845 ft)
Longest rivers
Usumacinta 1,000 km (621 mi) total, including Mexican section
Motagua 487 km (303 mi)
Largest lakes
Lake Izabal 590 km² (228 sq mi)
Lake Atitlán 130 km² (50 sq mi)
Lake Petén Itzá 99 km² (38 sq mi)


   Guatemala is administratively divided into 22 departments, with that of the capital being by far the most populated; 1/3 of the territory consists of the department of Petén, which corresponds to the northern part of the country.

   Most of the main cities are located in the urban agglomeration of the capital, Guatemala City, with the other departments having only one relevant urban center, the capital; we can also note the absence of large cities along the coast on the Pacific Ocean, with only one city on the shorter one on the Atlantic Ocean.

Guatemala City